February Runners-Up

I’ve officially wrapped up my first complete month on this photo-a-day blog, despite general busyness and a week of being sick. I’ve been relatively strict with myself, and have yet to miss a single day (kind of a big deal for me). This means that every photo on the blog so far was indeed taken on the day posted in its caption, and I haven’t used substitute photos on bad snapping days. It’s been a good exercise for me, especially as I have a tendency to be a bit perfectionistic and don’t like to put anything out in the open that I’m not 100% jazzed about. Some days I am not content with what I captured, but I have to put it up anyway (it’s like exposure therapy for the perpetually self-critical). Other days I might have multiple shots that I like and have to pick my favorite. Since I started gathering a surplus of decent photos that I wasn’t posting, I decided to do an extra post at the end of each month with my favorite “runner-ups.”

Brookyln Buildings, Windsor Terrace

Brookyln Buildings, Windsor Terrace

Seagulls at the Parade Ground, Brooklyn

Seagulls at the Parade Ground, Brooklyn

Ex-mouse and his deceased plastic friend, Brooklyn

Ex-mouse and his deceased plastic friend, Brooklyn

Backstory: saw this poor gruesome guy on the sidewalk during my daily commute for nearly a week. One morning I discovered that someone had been kind enough to ease his loneliness with the clever placement of a dearly departed plastic comrade. Thanks for keeping it weird, Brooklyn.

Bike shadow: Manhattan

Bike shadow, Manhattan

End Stop and Frisk: Gowanus, Brooklyn

End Stop and Frisk: Gowanus, Brooklyn

Old chimney, Manhattan

Old chimney, Manhattan

Lights near Grand Central Station, Manhattan

Lights near Grand Central Station, Manhattan

Neon Sign, Midtown Manhattan

Neon Sign, Midtown Manhattan

Delivery day. Going to hazard a guess that this isn't up to NYC health code? - Brooklyn

Delivery day. Going to hazard a guess that this isn’t up to NYC health code? – Brooklyn

Just a Sunday afternoon in Prospect Heights, Brooklyn

Just a Sunday afternoon in Prospect Heights, Brooklyn

Park Slope sunset, Brooklyn

Park Slope sunset, Brooklyn

Chinatown signs, Manhattan

Chinatown signs, Manhattan

Metal menagerie, Manhattan

Metal menagerie, Manhattan

Leave a Reply

