August 1-8, 2013

I forgot to mention it a few posts ago, but on July 26th, I hit the 6 month mark for this project. I still have yet to miss a day. I took on this challenge as a way to force myself to take a photo each day, even a crap one, in order to train my eye to see more detail around me. There are so many layers to this city that there is always something new to capture, even in the neighborhoods where I walk every single day.

As with all things, there are days when it rains non-stop or I’m cooped up inside all day trying to catch up on production work for the newspaper; days when I’m downright annoyed that I have this extra small task on top of my already borderline unmanageable schedule. Nevertheless, I love how it forces me to slow down to try to really see what is around me, and to actually stop and document what I find, no matter how ordinary. Not to mention the fact that sticking to tasks or goals has been a problem for me in the past, so this is a near miracle.

 

Thursday, August 8, 2013: East Village, Manhattan

Thursday, August 8, 2013: East Village, Manhattan

 

Wednesday, August 7, 2013: Chelsea, Manhattan

Wednesday, August 7, 2013: Chelsea, Manhattan

 

Tuesday, August 6, 2013: Newkirk Plaza, Brooklyn

Tuesday, August 6, 2013: Newkirk Plaza, Brooklyn

 

Monday, August 5, 2013: Red wagon slide from my childhood in Riverfront Park in Spokane, Washington

Monday, August 5, 2013: Red wagon slide from my childhood in Riverfront Park in Spokane, Washington

 

Sunday, August 4, 2013: Monroe Bridge in downtown Spokane, Washington

Sunday, August 4, 2013: Monroe Bridge in downtown Spokane, Washington

 

Saturday, August 3, 2013: my childhood home in Spokane, Washington

Saturday, August 3, 2013: my childhood home in Spokane, Washington

 

Friday, August 2, 2013: Whitefish, Montana

Friday, August 2, 2013: Whitefish, Montana

 

Thursday, August 1, 2013: Haymoon Resort in Whitefish, Montana

Thursday, August 1, 2013: Haymoon Resort in Whitefish, Montana

Leave a Reply

