New Toy (sort of)

So it’s been a mighty long while since my last post, and a lot of you have asked me why I stopped. I guess when I reached the end of the daily photo project, a small part of me wanted to rebel by refusing to capture every little thing I saw with my phone. Well, seven months have passed and I’m mostly over my little bout of teenage obstinance.

In celebration of finishing the project, I finally took a trip to B&H Photo back in January to pick up my first DSLR. It’s a humble and lightweight Canon EOS Rebel SL1, and fits my needs perfectly for now. Once I master it and start to feel its limitations, I’ll probably move up in the market. In the mean time, here are some of the shots I took during my first weeks of Canon parenthood.

 

IMG_0092

Dusk in Ditmas Park, Brooklyn

 

Hanging out on the top of Ditmas Park's own Little Free Library

Hanging out on the top of Ditmas Park’s own Little Free Library

 

Williamsburg bridge

Williamsburg bridge

 

Iconic Domino Sugar Factory from the Brooklyn side of the Williamsburg Bridge

Iconic Domino Sugar Refinery from the Brooklyn side of the Williamsburg Bridge

 

Like 5Pointz in Queens (the demolition of which is beginning TODAY), the Domino Sugar Refinery is very soon to be torn down and replaced by high-rise apartment complexes.

 

Strangely depopulated Williamsburg Bridge

Strangely depopulated Williamsburg Bridge, Brooklyn side

 

IMG_0276

Williamsburg, Brooklyn

 

IMG_0279

Williamsburg, Brooklyn

 

Quality time in Prospect Park, Brooklyn

Quality time in Prospect Park, Brooklyn

 

Places to be: Prospect Park, Brooklyn

Places to be: Prospect Park, Brooklyn

 

IMG_0492

Spring sprung in Midwood, Brooklyn

 

IMG_0513

Post mortem in Ditmas Park, Brooklyn

Leave a Reply

